Ninja 300 to a cruiser | GTAMotorcycle.com

Ninja 300 to a cruiser

Moff

I have been riding a Ninja 300 for 2 years looking at upgrading to a middleweight cruiser. Can't decide on which one, I like the Vulcan 900 but also the Iron 883. I know I won't get the handling of the Ninja with a cruiser and would love to ride a Hayabusa or Vfr 800, but the insurance on these bikes are too much. I would welcome thoughts and Ideas?

Vulcan S 650
sporty handling with cruiser - foot forward ergos
same platform as the ninja 650 and Versys
cheap insurance

What about the Vulcan 900?

solid cruiser, handles like a typical cruiser
insurance rates are starting to creep up for mid range cruisers
Vulcan S is not sport bike, raked out front end, average brakes
but far more capable than a standard cruiser for a bit of spirited riding
hard to find a good deal on used though...they've only been around a few years
sellers seem to be trying to get the purchase price back

I have been riding a Ninja 300 for 2 years looking at upgrading to a middleweight cruiser. Can't decide on which one, I like the Vulcan 900 but also the Iron 883. I know I won't get the handling of the Ninja with a cruiser and would love to ride a Hayabusa or Vfr 800, but the insurance on these bikes are too much. I would welcome thoughts and Ideas?

Before everyone gets going too far . . . What do you need that the Ninja 300 won't give you?

Commuting?
Long distance riding?
Highways?
Backroads/Gravel?
Pillion comfort?
Rider comfort?
Camping?
Carrying more stuff?
Range?
Acceleration?
Lean angle?
Ease of parking?
Less shifting?
Looks?
Other things not included above?

I would start by asking my insurance broker what my 5 star minimal coverage insurance rates would be for, a Vulcan 900, Iron 883, Hayabusa and a Vfr 800 ;) maybe add a BMW in there for comparison.