Night time riding? What is the really hazard? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Night time riding? What is the really hazard?

TorontoMiata

Hi all. Again I am a beginner. I just did a 1300km trip from whiteface mountain. Today I left from Utica to Toronto at around 4:30 am. I was a bit scared at first since all the back road doesn't have any light but got used to it quickly. for a 2 hours trip from Utica to Cape Vincent I was mostly calmed since I was basically the only guy on the road. Whole time there was only one pickup passed me and I followed him for a while. I saw two deers crossing street but they were about 100 meters away and they run away in a second. All the on coming traffic I could see their head light from a great distance. I know people are reluctant to do night riding but I found it was not that bad. I guess the real hazard would be the wild animals? I admit if any deer came from the side I would not have responded. However, what a lovely experience to watch sunrise while you are riding! Part of me would really like to do it again. So fellows, please share your thoughts about night time riding, let me know something I overlooked! Thanks in advance!

I have done a fair bit of riding at night. Often it's because I thought I could ride more distance in a given time than I could, and ended up riding for hours in the dark to reach my destination. I hit a deer in West Virginia a few years ago around 9:30pm when the sun had set by 6:30pm and took it out pretty good. They are very unpredictable and fast, so that's not a good combo.

In the urban environment, it's other road users to watch out for and in the rural environment it's generally wildlife.

Riding at night also increases the likelihood of other road users not seeing you, so having some reflective stickers, rim tape or piping/stripes on your gear, can help improve your visibility.
Something like:
DSCN9326-XL.jpg

As others have said.Mostly nocturnal animals.