Ecu flash?



Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Ecu flash?

  1. #1

    Ecu flash?

    Anyone here doing it? Would rather not send my ecu away for weeks.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Aprilia Caponord (RIP), 1974 mini
    Posts
    5,672

    Re: Ecu flash?

    Maybe TAFB. I think his username is johnscruiser now.

  3. #3

    Re: Ecu flash?

    Quote Originally Posted by TravR1 View Post
    Anyone here doing it? Would rather not send my ecu away for weeks.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Shouldn't take weeks. Are you un-restricting or tune/mapping?

    What bike etc?
    17' FZ09 Intensity White
    "Don't confuse my attitude with my personality. My personality is who i am, my attitude depends on who you are."

  4. #4

    Re: Ecu flash?

    Its a 2015 Fz-07. Wanna map it for a akra exhaust (installed) and disable injector decel cutoff.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5

    Re: Ecu flash?

    https://www.vcyclenut.com/store/p27/...cu_flash_.html

    Friend just used these guys for his FZ09, was 1.5 weeks turn around they offer plenty of shipping options.
    17' FZ09 Intensity White
    "Don't confuse my attitude with my personality. My personality is who i am, my attitude depends on who you are."

  6. #6

    Re: Ecu flash?

    Quote Originally Posted by Evoex View Post
    https://www.vcyclenut.com/store/p27/...cu_flash_.html

    Friend just used these guys for his FZ09, was 1.5 weeks turn around they offer plenty of shipping options.
    I had mine flashed by vcycle two years ago, still working good.

    Locally see what Pro6, RC or champion cycle offer for your bike.

  7. #7
    Underdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Etobicoke
    Posts
    184

    Re: Ecu flash?

    Be very careful with ECU Flash
    Make sure you save the stock map, have a custom map for your bike ready...and get educated how to do it properly.
    Mistakes will grenade the engine
    or get PC5 unit and bypass the BS


    Sent from my iPhone using GTAMotorcycle.com

  8. #8

    Re: Ecu flash?

    I waited until winter before sending my ecu over to california.In the case of my bike they had many programs to choose from in regards to what was done to my bike.Would never go back to power commanders and Bazzaz units again(unless I was racing the bike or wanted 100% perfection).I had them delete the O2 sensor,delete the pair valve,delete the exhaust valve motor,lower the temp that the cooling fans come on, replace ignition curves,lowered RPM limiter slightly,disable deceleration fuel cut and of course optimize fuel curves.They just need to know what air filter you are using,exhaust you are using and type of riding (street-track) from what I remember.From what I understand the ecu flash in my case gets me around to around 90% of "perfection",Good enough for me and no wiring work needed,no dyno tuning plus the extras (in my case) of the things that the PC/Bazzaz cant do.Looks like Danos Performance does ecu flashes for your bike as well.

  9. #9

    Re: Ecu flash?

    Out of curiosity, if you didn't use a dyno to check it (before/after), how do you know that you are around 90% of "perfection"? Or even if you made an improvement?

  10. #10

    Re: Ecu flash?

    Quote Originally Posted by fugue View Post
    Out of curiosity, if you didn't use a dyno to check it (before/after), how do you know that you are around 90% of "perfection"? Or even if you made an improvement?
    Easy,look at the dyno charts provided by the company for before and after and you also feel the difference as well.Especially the fuel cut on decereration.That's how the quality ecu flashers get their programming by experimenting on a dyno with various parameters and changes on a bike.yOu just have to find a flashing provider that has done all the dyno testing before hand to get you a quality flash and find one that previous customers are happy with for whatever bike you have.

  11. #11

    Re: Ecu flash?

    I had Ivan flash my ECU and had it back in less than a week.
    I had it done before the riding season though so not being able to ride was not a biggie.
    You do not need a therapist if you own a motorcycle, any kind of motorcycle!
    Dan Aykroyd

    Past Rides: Kawasaki KX80, Honda CB350, CAN-AM 125 Qualifier, CAN-AM 250MX, CAN-AM 500MX, 2000 Kawasaki ZX6, 2001/2003 KLR 650, 2006 Yamaha FZ1
    Current Rides: 2012 Yamaha FZ1/2014 KTM 690 Enduro
    Future Ride:KTM 790 Twin or Yamaha T7

  12. #12
    JavaFan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    613 ghetto
    Posts
    2,501

    Re: Ecu flash?

    wondering what happens if the flash gets corrupted?
    does the shop replace your ECM? or is it owner beware?

  13. #13

    Re: Ecu flash?

    Quote Originally Posted by JavaFan View Post
    wondering what happens if the flash gets corrupted?
    does the shop replace your ECM? or is it owner beware?
    Owner beware.
    You do not need a therapist if you own a motorcycle, any kind of motorcycle!
    Dan Aykroyd

    Past Rides: Kawasaki KX80, Honda CB350, CAN-AM 125 Qualifier, CAN-AM 250MX, CAN-AM 500MX, 2000 Kawasaki ZX6, 2001/2003 KLR 650, 2006 Yamaha FZ1
    Current Rides: 2012 Yamaha FZ1/2014 KTM 690 Enduro
    Future Ride:KTM 790 Twin or Yamaha T7

  14. #14
    JavaFan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    613 ghetto
    Posts
    2,501

    Re: Ecu flash?

    Quote Originally Posted by giddyup View Post
    Owner beware.
    thanks

    was wondering based on kind of a strange story here awhile back
    guy had his ECM flashed, put it back in bike, then hooked up his battery backwards
    after sorting out the fuses etc, the bike would not run
    took it to the dealer who told him the engine harness to ECM connection was damaged
    he bought a new ECM....was a strange one

  15. #15
    doubleapex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Markham
    Posts
    115

    Re: Ecu flash?

    There are precautions that can be taken to ensure everything goes smoothly. Is the ECU getting flashed on the bench or on the bike? If it's on the bike then what is the condition of the battery (it can take 30-45 minutes to read certain ECUs)? Is the bike plugged into a charger and if so, then how stable is the charger? If it's on a bench then are they using a battery or a 12v UPS? Does the operator perform a read/write test before proceeding? Is the bike tested on a dyno before and after to verify everything? Is the shop building a custom flash for that bike or are they using a flash from a share site, built on a different market's ECU? Do they offer a guarantee? Do your research and ask questions.
    Quote Originally Posted by JavaFan View Post
    wondering what happens if the flash gets corrupted?
    does the shop replace your ECM? or is it owner beware?
    AM 28

  16. #16
    busabim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    448

    Re: Ecu flash?

    Bunch of fairy tales to scare people. Ivan, schnitz and so many companies now offer ECU tuning without any issues whatsoever. Unless you are racing why go for the hassle/cost of a bazzaz?

    Do you really think on the street you will be retuning your bike often?I Never did once when I had my PC3.

    I will be sending my ECU to one of the above when I am away since the stock ECU is so restricted in the first four gears ( Zx-14R) and the fueling is terrible.

    I went to riders choice first and did a fourth gear pull ( before ) I send off my ECU

    BB

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    761

    Re: Ecu flash?

    Look up through Facebork or InstaGran "JSFLASHTUNE". He works with SpeedLab (a mobile Dyno). I spent the $500 to have the bike on the Dyno and get the tune custom for my particular bike. Alas, each engine is always unique in some manner. He uses Flashtune as the company. I know there is also ECUUnleashed and Guhl's who reverse hack ECUs and does his own thing.

    I know after mine he won't do another Fz8. Flashtune (the company) has some problems with their software and this bike so the if he touched the Ignition Maps, the bike wouldn't start. He could only play with the Fuel Maps. Regardless, I have nice smooth throttle (mostly from disabling Fuel Decel Cut), and in every gear, I am a second quicker to red-line.

    Funny to see after 13 runs on the dyno on a very hot day my peak HP dropped from 95 (stock) to 93. lol. Obviously it was getting heat soaked, and in reality I'm probably at like 97hp.

    I can see from JSFlashtune's posts he has down Fz-9 and Fz-7s already.

    Both he and his partner (that one who owns the mobile dyno) have lots of experience with tuning motorcycles.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •