Track Riders Who Quit Street | GTAMotorcycle.com

Track Riders Who Quit Street

bastak

Hi All,

I'm curious to know what proportion of track riders out there ride track exclusively and how that came to be?

For example: Did you stop riding street after a specific incident? Were you riding way too fast on the street and decide that the track was the best environment for you? Were you concerned about the uncontrollable risks associated with street riding vs. controlled closed course? Or was it just a matter of preference and finding track to be more enjoyable overall as a hobby or sport?

Interested in hearing your stories. Cheers.

The more I go on the track the less you ride on the street. I have not quit street riding though

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

When I started riding track I was trying to decide whether or not to get another street bike. At the time, Turn2 was still doing rental bikes and their track school so I thought why not try it out. I chose to do a day at Calabogie, after the day I immediately began looking for a decent used prepped track bike.

There were many reasons I chose track over street:

Negatives for street riding
1. High insurance costs for not much enjoyment.(Live in the city, so mostly boring roads with tons of traffic)
2. Too many distracted drivers(i.e. cell phones, eating/drinking/applying makeup etc. even worse nowadays)
3. Street Racing Laws(too easy to go 50 over on a bike without really realizing it)
4. Too much traffic in the city(see point one)
5. Most of my friends had quit riding at that point so was mostly riding solo
6. Too tired to ride after work most of the time

Positives for Street
1. Can go out for a rip any time I want
2. Can commute on bike, maybe saving some commuting costs

Negatives for Track
1. Relatively high initial costs
2. Tires are expensive

Positives for track
1. No insurance
2. No distracted riders(hopefully)
3. Can go as fast as I wanted or my ability allowed me to go