This is what I was afraid of..... | GTAMotorcycle.com

This is what I was afraid of.....

Morrissey

So last month I had my 2001 Suzuki Bandit 600 up for sale, it had 65k on it. A guy came and looked at it, started raving about how clean it was and how good the condition of the bike was. I told him the service history of the bike and that as far as I knew it only needed a passenger foot peg (was missing) to certify but that I am not a mechanic. The bike rode great as far as I could tell and I had had the bike inspected last summer when I was getting the clutch replaced and nothing came back as being needed. The buyer was in his 30's and aside from being a little spazzy seemed alright. We settled on a price and I even agreed to write the bill up for less than what we agreed on so he could save a few bucks on the taxes. We made arrangements for him to pick up the bike a week later as he didn't have his license yet and he couldn't get all of the cash together until then.

A week later he shows up and I have everything ready for him including all of the spare parts and service manuals and he gives me a story about how he couldn't get all of the money together and that he was $300 short, would I take it and a promise that he would return with the rest the following week? I didn't feel right about it but just wanted the bike gone so I rolled the dice, agreed and hoped for the best. A few weeks went by and still no $300. I got a story about how he dropped the bike in the driveway and hurt his back picking it up so he missed a few days of work. Finally after a month his wife sends me an e-transfer for $100. That was just this week.