best cellular provider for motorcycle tracker? | GTAMotorcycle.com

best cellular provider for motorcycle tracker?

amp3d

Site Supporter
Just wondering what company you guys use for sim cards for tracking devices?
Just wondering which cellular provider would be the most cost efficient route to go!

You need a SIM card to be able to communicate with it remotely ... GPS does jack if you're bike is stolen and you're nowhere near it to know where it is.

Bell/Telus share the most complete GSM network in Canada
some of the no frills telcos piggyback on that network
Virgin, Koodoo, may be some others

I think we are talking about two different devices.. I'm talking about Spot et al and yes they have two way communication without a cell network.

I work in the GPS tracking industry. Most vehicle trackers in the market are based on a combination of satellite and cellular. Satellite for getting location and cellular to transmit data to servers. Solely satellite based trackers or personal trackers (spot) are pretty expensive for vehicle tracking use. As for the the cell carrier, I believe Telus or Bell would be your best coverage.

I work in the GPS tracking industry. Most vehicle trackers in the market are based on a combination of satellite and cellular. Satellite for getting location and cellular to transmit data to servers. Solely satellite based trackers or personal trackers (spot) are pretty expensive for vehicle tracking use. As for the the cell carrier, I believe Telus or Bell would be your best coverage.

Yup, all the gps tracking devices I've looked at have support for sim cards which is how you interact with it.

I guess I should have been more clear, was just wondering if any of these providers have cheap plans for devices such as this. In the USA they have some specific plans for these devices.