I am definitely an idiot...and now I need insurance | GTAMotorcycle.com

I am definitely an idiot...and now I need insurance

Ok I have approached this whole thing backwards. And now I have damage control to do and need lots of advice please.

Backstory: I used to ride off road years ago and the occasional road and highway up in the Parry Sound area the early 80's. Well before leisure vehicle insurance was required and trail permits became fashion. That's my riding experience. Otherwise I've been driving with a full G-class license for 34 years (yes I'm 50). And yes I'm realizing car experience does not equate to motorcycle experience. Anyhow my brother has been riding since 2013 and has been bugging me to get a bike and ride with him. I've always loved his Victory. And my stepfather wouldn't be averse to me riding around with him on his Harley. So one day I woke up and decided to go window shopping. No M1 written, no riding course. NO clue about insurance, CC's, graduated licensing, etc. How dangerous could window shopping be afterall? Well I hadn't known Victory closed the plant last year. Scarcity of supply kicks in. All rational thought goes out the window.

Present: This is where it gets STUPID. I can't find a new or slightly used Victory 8-Ball anywhere. So I buy the last brand new black Victory Octane in Ontario. Yep 1100cc. I rationalize with myself. I figure I'll learn on it...it's only a 3/4 bike. It's a cruiser at least, albeit a muscle cruiser. So while shopping hard to find OEM Victory accessories I stumble across a brand new Victory 8-Ball in the US. Yep I buy it too. All 1700cc. I figure it can "sit" while I learn on the Octane. Then I found this forum while exploring insurance options. And I start reading the horror stories and shock of the insurance quotes. And then I start reading about recommended started bikes, sizes, lack of riding experience and so on.