Where is the moto industry headed? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Where is the moto industry headed?

shanekingsley

Curry - so nice it burns you twice
Site Supporter
I was thinking about this recently and was curious to hear the thoughts of others.

I started riding in 2003 and here in the GTA (and within the industry as a whole), much has changed in that short time. For those of you who started riding before me (some started well before I was born!) you can also attest to how much has changed on so many levels - from technology, to gear, to legislation, to trends and maybe even socially, economically, politically or demographically. For example, across Canada, recreational marijuana will be legal by this time next year and this will throw another item into cauldron of safety issues, which now also includes cell phones and alcohol.

Gear has developed to now include clothing that looks like denim, but is Kevlar reinforced, has non-bulky D30 armour and looks like I can wear it to dinner without sticking out like a power ranger. Bikes are faster, have better suspension, brakes and have infinitely more gadgets and rider aids. The recent offerings of many more things like GPS, bluetooth, apps and more... will certainly have an effect on rules of the road and perhaps licensing standards. We also have a much greater diversity within the ranks of those who ride. Electric bikes are slowly entering the mainstream consciousness as well as smaller ebikes, 3 wheelers and more. We now have really well developed forums (like this!), Youtube videos to teach you how to do it right and wrong, and a very rapidly evolving bike culture in general.

So this thread is less about reminiscing about what has changed, and more about what will be changing.

What does all this mean for the newer riders and the next generation of riders?
Where do you see the moto industry headed in the next 5 years? 10 years?
What would you like to see in the industry over the next 5-10 years?