Update thread; bought the bike, now what!? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Update thread; bought the bike, now what!?

KOSALKA

Hey guys, I bought the 2014 ninja 300 and have the ownership, uvip and bill of sales with me. Bike is currently plated and has a sticker with 'OCT 18' on it, but this is from the previous owner(she didnt care for the plates). No idea if its insured or whatever, but its not registered under my name yet and i currently DO NOT possess a valid insurance slip... :(

So now I need to call up my insurance and get the bike insured correct? I read somewhere about a 14 day thingy where I can get the bike saftied(bike is currently not saftied), how does that exactly work?

I think I need to get insurance first, followed by visiting serviceontario and completing the registration, if there are alternatives please clue me in! This is my first time buying privately and is definetly confusing! XD

Please help me get on the road asap! <3

Last edited:
Call and get insurance, they will email you a temporary card that you can print out. Then you go to MTO, transfer the title and get a temporary permit, this will be your new license plate, with a 'T' sticker on it. You can now ride the bike for 10 days, use that time to get a safety. Once that is done, you can go back to MTO, and get your permanent sticker to attach to that plate.

if you haven't arranged insurance, it's not insured
you can;t legally ride the bike with her plates on it
if you want to start riding it, you need to get it safetied
get some insurance, and go change the reg over to you
pay the taxes, and you'll get plates

the 14 day thingy is a trip permit from MTO
with that and insurance, and a proper DL
you can ride it to a shop to get safetied

I think you have it right. The previous owner should have taken the plate and gotten some money back from service Ontario, but that's not your problem. With valid insurance, and the paperwork you mentioned, you just need to pay for tax and the temporary permit.