600ish cc Naked Bikes? | GTAMotorcycle.com

600ish cc Naked Bikes?

Nash

Looking to pick up a new bike, I've been riding for about 3 months and just wrote off my 2012 Ninja 250 in a not at fault (taxi, U-turn). Was looking at an Fz08 and pretty much had my mind made up I was buying it until I got a quote from insurance. Wasn't overly surprised as I know they say over 600cc for a new rider is basically another bracket for insurance. Not giving up hope yet that I'll be able to find slightly more affordable insurance on it, but I have my doubts given my experience level.

I'm wondering if it might be better for insurance purposes to pick up something 500-650cc for a couple years. I like the look and riding position on the naked bikes (especially the yamaha FZs and Kawi Zs) more than sport bikes. Wondering if anyone has any opinions on some other options that are relatively new and between 500-650cc in the naked category? I've been looking and it seems there aren't really that many options out there. Budget is around 6k but I could probably be convinced to buy a new bike if it came down to it.

First post so hoping I'm not being a typical forum newbie and posting this is the wrong area. Appreciate any help or opinions!

If used:

SV650

If new:

Z650 or Fz 07 would both be good

Any of those would be powerful and fun

Last edited:
What he said^^^
Personally I'd have a long look at the new kawasaki z650 or the fz7.

Sent from my SM-A500W using Tapatalk

Winter approacheth. If you can store a bike you could score a great deal from someone who cannot store a bike over the winter. Check out your insurance costs first.