I reconstructed a bike theft from video cameras, if you want to see thieves in action | GTAMotorcycle.com

I reconstructed a bike theft from video cameras, if you want to see thieves in action

pgagy

I've been riding for 10 years, always lived in Toronto, and I've lived in this building for 5 years. My bike has finally been stolen. I never owned overly expensive bikes, so I thought that's why it's never happened to me. I live in a condo, and there are many cameras (except one right at my bike!) but I have the thieves' cars on video, including one of the guys facing a camera. You can see the video here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rLrFydN_n4w

There are so many interesting take-aways here:
-I didn't know one could steal a bike with a Ford Edge
-People see a Ford Edge with covered up plates and a motorcycle wheel hanging out of the back of it, and don't think anything of it.
-Watch out for Nissan Versa/Ford Edge combo - assuming they will be doing this again.
-There were at least 3 people that were in the garage at the same time, on the same floor. not one did anything about it.

Here is the sequence of events. The various cameras around the building are on two different circuits, and the time is off by about 2 minutes between them:

10:37 Shady guy walks up to garage ramp ramp and waits for someone to follow into building
10:44 Shady Guy leaves ramp to walk towards front door
10:45 Shady guy enters building follwing a Pizza delivery guy (Thanks Pizza Pizza, it's your fault my bike is gone)
10:46 Lets pizza guy go upstairs, then takes elevator to basement
Spends over 20 minutes in basement, not on any camera. Presumably scoping out garage / calling in others
11:09 Nissan Versa (presumed watch team) pulls into parking lot
11:10 Edge drives into parking lot
11:14 Edge follows a Corolla into parking lot, shady guy can be seen in the garage
11:15 Corolla parks 2 spots over from where the bike is normally parked - must have seen the Ford Edge / shady guy