State farm lowered my ins then just raised it | GTAMotorcycle.com

State farm lowered my ins then just raised it

MattR

So I moved from Scarborough to Port Credit and my insurance for my 2015 BMW S1000RR went from $3500/year to $2500/year. I was happy about this until I just received a call from state farm letting me know my renewal is going from $2500-$3950 for the year. No tickets and anything has changed. She just said they don't want to insure supersport bikes.

Can anyone throw me a bone on someone else to call? I have been riding since 2010 with no accidents or tickets and a full M License. I'm also 37.

Last edited:
Most companies don’t like sport bikes if you’re a new rider. Too many people skipping learning how to ride properly on a beginner bike and going full squid on a super sport have ruined insurance for the rest of us. Did you have to redo your m2? Last I checked you could only have it for 5 years and you said you’ve been riding since 2010 or 7 years ago. If you had to redo it everyone is going to work off your most recent license date and you’ll be considered a new rider.

I did not have to redo it. I meant to say I had my full M License. I edited the post since.. I know the reasons why it goes up. I just need to find somewhere else to get coverage.

I did not have to redo it. I meant to say I had my full M License. I edited the post since.. I know the reasons why it goes up. I just need to find somewhere else to get coverage.

Having your M and lots of experience is going to help you big time. Call some brokers that do motorcycles like Ron Calderon at Dalton Timmis, riders plus, or M&W. Lots of people on the forum have been able to get help from those guys. Bring your home and auto as well and they’ll probably be able to get you a multiline discount.

mitchell and whale...they have a thread in the insurance forum
great service, expect they find you a better deal