Bike Opinions | GTAMotorcycle.com

Bike Opinions

uncivilengineer

So my girl was stolen from me about a month ago (2015 Ninja 650) and I'm just beginning the process of finding a new bike.

Been to a few shops (Snow City, Cycleworld, VOS, Ready Powersports) to name a few (if you have a couple of others let me know), and sat on a few and am narrowing my list down.

Basically looking at a more naked version of a bike, not wanting a supersport but something with some zip would be fun. I'm a bigger guy so something not bent over would be good too. I'm narrowing the list down, but want some opinions on the models, insurance rates, etc. M2 licensed right now, will be full M in the spring if I get a bike. Have over 12000km under the belt with pretty good rider training in BC.

Basically my shortlist now is
Kawasaki Z650 - Loved my 650, and sat on this at Snow City and loved the reduced weight and feel of it, and I may be biased
FZ-07 - Seat sucks on it, but definitely one I've been interested in for a while
FZ-09 - Seating is much more comfortable, had a buddy from my riding school recommend it as well
GSX-750 - Not a bad seating position, but really turned off somewhat by how wide it looks from the front
SV650 - Similar to the Z650, more fairings, not bad seating

I like to do longer rides, so I'm almost discounting the FZ07 out already. If anyone has anything to add from their experience on these, it'd be great. Hoping to salvage the rest of this season before it gets cold again, but I still also need to get through the insurance part. Considering a second hand as well, but I'm not the most mechanically inclined and I just don't trust other riders not to abuse before they sell sometimes. Insurance may also play a part on this, but I'm going to start getting some quotes in the next week.

FZ-09 if you can wing the insurance.

If you like long rides, you should consider an aftermarket seat anyhow.
Sargent, Corbin, etc.