Anyone started on small bikes and continued riding small bikes ? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Anyone started on small bikes and continued riding small bikes ?

zheka130

Guys

Just curious, any of the more experienced riders, perhaps with 2+ years of experience still on small bikes 250-300 cc?

With my limited experience, I find small bikes are light and easy to maneuver and toss around, particularly at slower speeds. Perhaps it is because I have little experience in general.

I've always been partial to intermediate bikes 650s - starting on a 305 Hawk 52 years ago ...I do own a CBF1000 but it's an anomaly ....it is still a "small" bike in terms of weight ( under 500 lb ) and physical size .....its just has this little rocket assist on call :D
More fun than the Vstrom ...a few downsides like range.

I really like the move to smaller practical machines like the CB500x and even the new series of 300s.

The downsides of the smaller bikes is when touring at speed....even the Vstrom 650 can run out of puff on the slab in the US.
The CBF ??? endless puff ;)

Last edited:
I've had my ninja 300 for 3 years. Before that, cbr600rr for 2 yrs. Honda magna for 1 yr before that. Now I got gladius.

Small bikes indeed are easier to maneuver and toss around like you said.

Honestly, there's nothing wrong with my ninja 300. Just wanted to try something different (never had a vtwin). So I could see myself keeping it long time.

If I can't sell it, I might keep it but the insurance on 2 bikes....

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk

I've had an '82 250, an '84 1100, a '92 1000, and now an '09 650.

As you can see, I'm on my way back down, and I wouldn't rule out a 300-500 as my next bike.

Big bikes are good for tearing up the highway miles, but cars are much better suited to it.

For many other things, a smaller bike is more efficient.

@zheka130 there are a few guys here that stay on the smaller bikes.
One guy, @LoneRonin, put close to/ over 100k on his.