Can't start 250 honda rebel | GTAMotorcycle.com

Can't start 250 honda rebel

Hey

I'm new to riding bikes. Two days ago my uncle gave me his 250 Honda rebel. I took it for a few drives around the neighborhood just to practice. Yesterday I went to a friend's house a few blocks away with it. I noticed I drove all the way there with the choke on. It was only a few minute ride, but I know I should turn it off after I get going. When I went to start it again it wouldn't turn over. It sounded like a flooded engine. The more I tried the more tired it sounded. I gave up and rolled it home. Let it sit overnight and went to try it this morning. No go again. I think it's flooded. I know this could cause me to possibly have to do an oil change if my oil got diluted.

I have also made sure the petcock is on and not on off, and it has gas in it. I would just like some knowledge on what the actual problem is, or if I got the problem right. If it is flooding I would also like to know the procedure on how to fix it. Thank you everyone.

Sent from my SM-N910W8 using Tapatalk

Your bike has the Keihin carburetor. I have the same engine in my CM250c. Believe me when I tell you not to twist the throttle more than 4 times before turning the bike over. Pull the choke, prime it with the throttle 3 times, then turn it over. Let it run for a minute then push in the choke to 1/2 and turn it off after you ride about 1km. It is a very simple, reliable carburetor, but it will flood quickly if you keep twisting that throttle trying to start it.

If it is badly flooded, push in the choke, take out the spark plugs and let the excess fuel evaporate for a couple of hours (you can speed this up by turning it over a few times with the plugs out). Check that the plugs are dry and reinstall them.