Share your fail stories of newbies starting on supersports | GTAMotorcycle.com

Share your fail stories of newbies starting on supersports

油井緋色

Site Supporter
I started riding nearly 7 years ago now. The first thing I saw, on this board and many others, was "Don't start on a supersport." Now, with 7 years of experience, starting on a GS500F, going to a GSXR750, onto the track, and now on a RSV1000, I've come to really appreciate that advice.

While I know two who started on SS bikes and became very competent riders, I've met a far more number of newbies on SS bikes that ride like they're ready to hop off at any moment. Since a ton of information exists about why newbies shouldn't start on SS bikes, lets share the hilarious (or sometimes gruesome) out comes; I've got two:

My addiction to track days started with following some guy onto a ramp and going in circles. One day, I invited two riders I had met back when I had my GS500F to come ramping. Both of them started on SS bikes. Upon the first ramp entry, one of the riders downshifted from 2nd to 1st, thinking he was going from 3rd to 2nd, to setup for the turn. He immediately lowsided and rashed up his knee so bad we saw something similar to bone. Had this been on a starter bike, the 2nd to 1st downshift would not have been anywhere near as violent and lowered the chance of a downshift acting like a massive rear brake.

Second story was at KC where a newbie, on a Hayabusa, was about to leave. I guess he was overly excited because he bounced off redline and popped the clutch. The bike looped. Hilarity ensued. While you can probably loop any bike if you tried hard enough, looping any SS Bike is not exactly hard.

Anyone else got any?

I started on a 600 and went a decade without incident.....and then I started riding track.