Transitioning from a cruiser to a sport bike | GTAMotorcycle.com

Transitioning from a cruiser to a sport bike

malinda

Hi, I have been riding for a couple of years on a Vulcan 500. I wanted to try out a sport bike next, and have been eyeballing a few in the 600cc class (namely GSXR and CBR). However, when i made the trip to the local dealership, I saw the Triumph Daytona and all the other models went right out the window- it's been my favorite sport bike for a while now! The seating position was less aggressive than i thought it would be, and i basically fell in love!

I know that it is a huge leap from the Vulcan, but was wondering, has anyone else made a transition like this? Or is it better to start off with a smaller sport bike?

Last edited:
How much riding experience do you have? How mature are you on a bike? I went from a 450 to a 750 after a half season...but that was from a Nighthawk to a Sabre. Still a big step, but I was going cross continent. Going to a SS is a different story. Depends on your experience and control.

Wow, that is a big leap! I have 2 years of riding experience. Still love the cruiser, but also want to try a sport bike!

Wow, that is a big leap! I have 2 years of riding experience. Still love the cruiser, but also want to try a sport bike!

You might be disappointed, the 600 class especially is dead below 7-8-9k rpms

Cant really use them in their powerband until your doing license suspending speeds.(Or so i hear)
(By the time the real power starts to come on, your already on the radar of most cops in your area)

Not to mention insurance costs.

See if you can test ride before you buy.

Would be kind of silly to buy a SS only to ride 80 km/h all day

get both. Maybe try an older SS to start.

It's not just about the power band though. The riding attitude is different.

Last edited:
suppose it would be agile compared to a cruiser.

Just be sure to get the insurance quotes before getting the SS