Tips for getting into Trades | GTAMotorcycle.com

Tips for getting into Trades

wearelopey

Hey all,

Strongly considering getting into trades, namely electrical, plumbing, or HVAC. Did the University thing (Liberal Arts) and found I enjoy working with my hands, and variety in a career. I really don't want to sit in an office all day doing data entry etc.

I'm on the lookout for Union apprenticeship hiring (Just missed IBEW a month ago), but the chance of me getting into any union is dicey.

I was wondering if anyone has any tips, leads, or personal experience about entering into trades?

What worked for you? What do you look for when choosing your next apprentice?

I'm good with my hands, and have a decent head on my shoulders. I will admit I'm pretty green in terms of trades (minor electrical, plumbing, HVAC at my parents place). I currently work in the motorcycle industry and although becoming an apprentice motorcycle mechanic is an option, I can't see myself doing it as a long term career.

Should I take a pre-apprenticeship at one of the colleges? I've heard that this won't necessarily help land an actual apprenticeship. This would also take up to 2 years to complete.

Should I just get in anywhere I can as a general labourer/helper and hope for an apprenticeship one day? I'm 27 now and worried that in 5 years I still won't be offered any kind of legitimate apprenticeship.

I'm willing to do what it takes to enter a trade, but sometimes it's difficult to start and I'd like to use my resources as wisely as possible. The goal being to prove myself and be taken on as an apprentice.

I live in Toronto if that makes any difference.

Again, I'm looking for any and all advice on how to enter trades, and appreciate any help I can get.

Thanks for looking!

What country I tell you a guy needs to beg into a trade and union. For shame.