Legal Will | GTAMotorcycle.com

Legal Will

inreb

Site Supporter
Gut check time. What's the deal with a cheapo Will out of Walmart kiosk? Any reason why I shouldn't use it?

the fine print will give all your assets to wal-mart

its a trap

how do you think they got so big

I'm not a lawyer but the way I see it is if you don't have much in assets it doesn't really matter what you use. If you have a lot of assets why save a bit of coin and leave a messy estate.

Also consider power of attorney for health and finances.

IMO if you own property you should use a lawyer. IIRC Auntie Kathy did a cash grab on estates recently.

Do not underestimate the greed of the vultures hovering about.

I mean, is it written in semi plain English and is it legally binding? If I indicate my very basic wishes can they be successfully thwarted by evil doers? I want my full legal $99 worth.

Great timing for this thread. With the kid due next week I actually started thinking about this now...fun times indeed!

Yes, a Walmart can be legally binding.
If you have any "real" assets it is probably worth your time to talk to an estate planner.

... but then screw it, when it hits the fan you will be long planted.

been on my to-do list for many years....

A free or cheap one is better than nothing, but if there are any quirks in what you want done, best to have a lawyer do it.

Watch out for the Hollywood stuff where the guy laying in a remote ditch next to his wrecked bike scrawls on a cigarette pack "I, being of sound mind and body leave everything to blah, blah, blah...........etc."

The guy is bashed to pieces with a concussion. He is not of sound mind and body. Scrap will.