ALWAYS fight your tickets!! | GTAMotorcycle.com

ALWAYS fight your tickets!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

LoneRonin

Even when you're guilty...

I got pulled over in the summer in my car going south on Hurontario approaching Dundas. There is a decline and the speed drops from 70 to 50 and the pigs are sometimes posted up there next to the Beer Store. He lit me up and wrote me a fat 4pt $700+ ticket for 48 over (98 in 50) told me how I was lucky to not have gotten HTA 172 blah blah blah. I just stayed quiet and took my ticket and filed for a court date 3 weeks later. When I got my court date I then went and filed for an adjournment so I could get my new bike and insurance all set up while I only had 1 ticket on my record. I had to file for a motion to adjourn and for that I had to attend court and go before the JP a week later. I have lots of experience with this and did it all on my own. It super easy and if you're polite, well dressed and well spoken you can always get away with doing it on your own.

I got a new date for Dec 16th. I went last week and took my highschool buddy who is now a lawyer in his second year of practice as backup to represent me worst come to worst. We had very little disclosure, no radar gun records or anything and he was just going to request for additional disclosure and adjourn it further. The cop ended up not showing so I got off completely. In the end at the very least I would have gotten the ticket reduced and could have requested up to 6 months to pay it but a little bit of effort resulted in no ticket, the main goal was really just to get that insurance set up after that it was whatever.