Torque Wrench Calibration | GTAMotorcycle.com

Torque Wrench Calibration

shanekingsley

Curry - so nice it burns you twice
Site Supporter
I have a Mastercraft Maximum Torque Wrench. I must have bought it about 10 years ago and forgot about it. It's never been used and now I want to start using it.

Do I need to check it's calibration? If so, where?

I was thinking of getting one of these:

http://www.revzilla.com/motorcycle/bike-master-digital-torque-wrench-adapter

and keeping it in a "safe" place (not my tool chest, for instance) and using it only to compare against my 1/2" clicker once in a while. I'd clamp the end in a vice and insert the clicker into the top and try a few different settings to see how they compare.

If there's a difference I'm not certain what I'd do beyond just buying a new wrench.

^^ That works too. I have the AC Delco version. The issue remains the same though - after a number of years, its certification/calibration isn't valid anymore and you need someone with a newer wrench to check it. Or you can do the rope and weight thing linked above.

The last time I got a tool shop to calibrate a wrench, the cost was reasonable. Matt's method looks like it would work though. I don't think lack of use would normally hurt a torque wrench much, but 10 years is long enough for things to stick/corrode a bit. If you're going Matt's route, I would work it a few times before checking it.

(May try out Matt's method as I have two wrenches that are out of date, but I don't know anywhere around here to calibrate them and I have time on my hands this month)

I used to repair torque wrenches and the shop had a proper dial gauge to do the click-click thing. Since I no longer have access to the right stuff I would either compare to a recently calibrated one. Get a 1/2" coupling nut which is 3/4" across the flats and basically arm wrestle your friend with 3/4" sockets.