Carpal tunnel repair...too many years riding and computing | GTAMotorcycle.com

Carpal tunnel repair...too many years riding and computing

MacDoc

Site Supporter
Been long overdue for both hands ...courtesy of too much riding with drop bars and too much work on the computer so for bad condition on a score of 6 I'm a six ...

Combined with my damaged shoulder ( not going to get better ) ....can be really a struggle with my right hand.....tho clutch hand is annoying as well.

Anyone who has had the surgery ....what is recovery time ( I'm likely doing right hand first )

TIA

As an electrician I know what you mean with the hands lol. I haven't had surgery on mine because they have gotten better since I switched to maintenance and less construction. I have had a back surgery though lol.
I have had friends do the wrist surgery and it has worked out great for them. Not exactly sure but my friend couldn't really use a drill after the 5th week because the torque would hurt the tender muscles.
Ask your surgeon for the best recover method.
Good luck.

What is the issue with the shoulder? I ask because the shoulder will lengthen the recovery time. As you likely already know when we injure a body part the body "adjusts", (or at least tries), to compensate for the effects of the injury. Therefore, once the carpel tunnel is fixed the body will still try to compensate for the shoulder, it could cause recurring damage to the wrist.

Combined with my damaged shoulder ( not going to get better )

Shoulder and wrist injury / recovery periods can be long, 2 - 3 months or more. I'm assuming you've seen a physiotherapist for your shoulder. Many people suffer from have rotator cuff or other shoulder issues, but never seek care, and there are exercises / therapies that can resolve issues over time.

I did both at the same time and was off work for 2 weeks.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk