Personal injury claim from accident | GTAMotorcycle.com

Personal injury claim from accident

empty

Reading the other post about the personal injury lawyer fee has me confused.

I'm new to this insurance claim business. Recently went off a small country road and broke my leg. Still playing phone tag with the insurance to get case file started. So far they said it's a single vehicle 100% my fault. Ok.

Had surgery on leg already. I know I will need physio. Have a few other aches that I'm starting to notice since the pain from the leg is going down. Not mobile yet to go see my doctor about the other pains.

Where happens next? Just follow my doctors orders and get treatment, then submit bills to insurance? Will they try to short change me?

What is hedo2002 referring to as the settlement amount include?

Where does the personal injury lawyers fit into the equation?

From the other thread:

.... I have never spoken to my adjuster on my second claim, I leave it to the lawyer to do it all, BUT I follow up with emails, and ask the lawyer to explain if I don't understand anything).
i am also aware that I have the $36,000 deductible to deal with so we are suing for an amount which will take these "expenses" into account. Basically I told the lawyers what I NEED to get as a settlement, in MY pocket. ....

A few things...

Get to your doctor as soon as you can to make sure that aches and pains are documented in a timely fashion.

Usually what happens is the insurance company will come out to see you and this should happen within a week or two of your injury. Once you have the contact info for your adjuster, you go to see a physiotherapist and they will prescribe a treatment plan to rehab your injuries. The insurance company will then approve or disapprove of that treatment plan.