Master Cylinder issues | GTAMotorcycle.com

Master Cylinder issues

Ally1

Hey guys,

Have a question about the front master cylinder. I have a 03 GSXR 1000. I'm having a lot of issues with my front brakes and I believe the issues lies with my front master cylinder, the brake pads are good and the caliper is in good shape as well.

I'm thinking about replacing the front master cylinder and was wondering if I could buy just about any master cylinder to replace it with or does it have to be one that fits my bike? The reason I ask this is cause I believe the existing master cylinder on there is not the original master cylinder for the bike.. It is an OEM master cylinder.

The master cylinder I currently have on there is a nissin 3/4. Can this be replaced by another MC like a brembo but a different size? Will there be any issues with the calipers?

Thank you.

I think so. Know the bar diameter. I think they're the same. Piston size, don't go narrower

I have an OEM master cylinder from a 2006 GSXR 600 for cheap. PM me if interested. Thanks.

I have 2 2003 GSXR1000s (street and track) and have had both the GSXR600 and 750 of the same year. All I can say is the stock conventional master cylinder that comes with these bikes is pure garbage! Combined with the stock rubber lines and calipers and you get a set of wooden brakes that have no feel and fade pretty quick at the track.

For the street bike, I upgraded to steel braided lines and a stock radial master cylinder from an 04+ R1 or 06+ R6, the brakes feel excellent for street riding now, absolutely no complaints.

For the track bike, I went a step further and also put stock monobloc radial calipers from 04+R1 or 06+ R6. The upgrade is well worth it, the feel and braking power is fine, I have no complaints with this set up either.