Cruiser vs Naked for 1st bike | GTAMotorcycle.com

Cruiser vs Naked for 1st bike

First of all, I'm new to riding, but a few years under my belt - just got my M2 after a training course, and looking for a first bike. I know the arguments about buying used first, but I can financially handle monthly payments better than a lump sum outlay at this time. I realize I can buy something cheap, but you get what you pay for and I'm not mechanically inclined - so I'd just rather buy something new with a full warranty even if I only have it for a year or two. On that, my mind is set.

Now, I've read a lot about bikes for new riders - but in these forums, it tends to be about sports bikes - start with a 250/300cc vs 600cc, which I get. I can't seem to find much about cruisers though. It's hard to find a cruiser under 600cc's - nothing that I've found that I wanted to ride at least. So I started looking at other styles of bike and the best I come up with, for my budget and style, is a Honda CB300F. I know it's not a cruiser, but it's cheap, light and less than 1/2 the cc's of something like a Vulcan S (650cc) - which is what I was considering as a starting cruiser.

So, to the question. Is something like a Vulcan S a good place to start, or should I go with something like the CB300F? I prefer the cruiser style (I'm more in the cruiser age bracket if you get my meaning) over the street/sport/naked style. I realize the CB probably handles easier than the S for a beginner, but is it going to make that much difference?

Welcome to the forum @MikrGuilbault