Muuffler head to the engine.. need help. PICS! | GTAMotorcycle.com

Muuffler head to the engine.. need help. PICS!

Hey guys,
This may be a stupid question, but if I don't ask it I won't know...
I was riding home on the trails and my bike started making noise right under the gas tank on the engine, so I looked underneath while the bike was still on and it was coming right out of where the muffler goes into the engine.
A nut came loose and the other just fell off while I was riding..
I've never seen these types of nuts before, but then again I am new to actually working on engines.
So my questions would be: Where would I find these types of nuts? (home depot? home hardware? Canadian tire? Or would I have to order some from a bike shop? Could I use a different type of nut with some Loctite so they don't fall off again? I'm sure there is an O ring of some sort, what type of thing do you look for to see if the ring has been damaged, other than the obvious..
Thanks guys!

20160725_215323_zpsnvcu2bgi.jpg

I would strongly recommend that you order the correct replacement part from the dealer and order a new exhaust gasket.

The threads are an ordinary ISO (i.e. metric) size, which means an ordinary metric nut (probably M6x1.0) will fit on there, but the cap on the end that covers the end of the stud is there to stop corrosion from causing the nut to seize to the stud. That cap needs to be the correct length, otherwise the cap nut will bottom on the end of the stud before it actually clamps that flange in place.

There is a copper gasket between the end of the exhaust header pipe and the cylinder head, but unless you rode for a long time with it leaking badly, OR if you reefed on the single remaining nut in the hope of keeping it in place (and thus applying force unevenly to that gasket and distorting it) you should be able to re-use it.