Acl tear and motorcycles? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Acl tear and motorcycles?

looplise

I was injured from a sporting event last month and I recently found out I had torn my acl.

My mobility is coming back through physio and at home exercises, where I am strengthen the muscles around the acl for a quicker post surgery recovery.

In the meantime, is it possible to ride? I know it's best to ask my surgeon, but I am still waiting on an appointment to be scheduled so I figured I'd each out to you lovely folks. Has anyone ever done it?

It's my first year riding this year. Having invested so much time and money only to be out for the rest of season is quite unfortunate.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

i doubt it, but it would depend on a few things:
- are you're on pain killers?
- how much weight you can take through your leg
- how steady is your leg with weight on it (i.e. does it tend to want to give out)
- how aggressive do you lean (i.e. does your knee get painful as you lean onto it around a corner)
- how willing are you to accept an even greater injury in the event of a crash or spill

Claimer: I'm no doctor. If you ever had to put the offending leg out for support it could easily buckle. Beyond that obvious problem you would also risk doing additional damage to the knee by taking it beyond it's intended range of motion. How badly do you want to chance tearing it up even more before the surgery? That answer might depend on how big, deep and many tattoos you have presently because #yolo. At a minimum get a knee brace.

don't know your age - but missing one year of riding out of hopefully many years still to come is a small price to pay to ensure a full recovery.

As others have said, don't ride. You risk permanently wrecking your knee if you do not give it enough time to heal. Tendons and ligaments heal slowly, much more slowly than muscle. At the very least wait until your consult and ask the doc.