Buying a beater bicycle | GTAMotorcycle.com

Buying a beater bicycle

sevet

So I'm looking to buy a cheapo ($100-$150 cheap) bicycle to just ride around town for fun, ideally a road bike. I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing when it comes to bicycles, I just know how to ride them. At the price range, I know I can't buy a new bike so I've been looking on kijiji. I know there are some used bike shops in Toronto including at least one that's a non-profit "build it yourself" kind of shop. As a complete noobie to bicycles, should I buy something from one of these shops or can I get away with something from kijiji as long as it pedals and brakes?

Pm FMJ or Inreb

Your best bet at really low prices are mountain bikes. Road bikes and hybrids typically command a little more as they are not as common and normally cost more to start with. There is an exception though, Canadian Tire sells (used to sell?) a dirt cheap road bike, ~$250 on sale. Those may pop up in your budget. Sure it's heavy and has grip shift, but it was the cheapest road bike I have ever seen.

Personally I would rather have a mountain bike for downtown riding than a road bike. They deal with street car tracks/grates/potholes/curb jumping much better. IMHO, you aren't going that far or that fast, most of the normal advantages of the road bike are wasted in the city. Also there are some great trails in the Don Valley that you can explore with your mtb.

Supercycle tempo(hybrid) and medalist(road) bikes are decent beaters. I been beating( tracks/grates/potholes/curb jumping) on a tempo and it's doing fine. Tempo frame is kinda small though. The medalist is very similar to the tempo only it has drop bars and the frame is bigger. They are on kijiji for ~$100.