Bargaining a New Motorcycle? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Bargaining a New Motorcycle?

48Connor

Tonight is the night, boys!

I'm planning on purchasing a new DRZ400SM tonight, and want to know if any of you, when purchasing a new bike, bargain with the sales person? The retail on it is $7700, and Suzuki is already throwing in a 5 year "warranty" over the standard 1 year.

I've never bought a new bike/vehicle before, so I'm a little new to this.

Thanks!

Always try, sometimes have success, sometimes fail. Worst case, try for some gear/accessories, margin on them is high so they have more room to work with you.

As long as the money is in your pocket, you're "in charge".

You can't walk in there and say "Here's $3000" but you can knock off several %% with some back and forth questioning and "I'm serious to buy today, what's the best price you're willing to offer". Compare that to your budget and supplement with added accessories for you to get your money's worth. No you won't get a 2 piece suit and 13 pairs of gloves, but if within reason, MOST dealers will work with you to make sure you ride away happy.

Also, you don't HAVE to buy anything today, so take your time, come back tomorrow it you need to, sometimes better to sleep on it. Good luck (and have fun!)

Margins on bikes are generally pretty thin, (compared to what most think they are). So the dealership will have little wriggle room as suggested try to get a deal on gear you may need. Look online at many dealers, get their best price then at the very least look for a "price match". The downside to that is if the other dealer doesn't have the machine and says it will take weeks to get one in.