How to choose a new bike | GTAMotorcycle.com

How to choose a new bike

EasternGTAMan

I started riding last summer, started on a 1983 Honda 250. It's a nice bike, but time to move up. I have M2 license. I want to know how to choose something in a 500 to 600 cc class. The problem though is that it's hard to find sellers who will let you test drive before you buy (at least that is my experience). And places that rent motorcycles require a full M. I don't have friends with a variety of bikes to try. So what advice can you provide for test driving and comparing different models so a choice can be made?

I started riding last summer, started on a 1983 Honda 250. It's a nice bike, but time to move up. I have M2 license. I want to know how to choose something in a 500 to 600 cc class. The problem though is that it's hard to find sellers who will let you test drive before you buy (at least that is my experience). And places that rent motorcycles require a full M. I don't have friends with a variety of bikes to try. So what advice can you provide for test driving and comparing different models so a choice can be made?

Manufacturers demo days. Most won't let you ride supersports with M2, but should let you ride 500's and 650's. Anything in that class will be a big step up in power from your current bike while still being easy to learn on. A 600+ SS is worlds apart from what you are used to.

Demo days or spend some money on a course at Motopark and get muddy, have fun and get a lot of good skills.

Op, how old are you? Most demo days are good with M2. They may restrict some models.

There is an age requirement for most as well.

But that is the way to go.

Dealers won't let you like the tires so to speak but if you narrow your choices down to a couple, they will set up a private demo with the understanding you are "serious".

But you are free to walk away after the demo.