My 1st Dirtbike -- what size and what kind? | GTAMotorcycle.com

My 1st Dirtbike -- what size and what kind?

BondJamesBond

I've been riding street bikes for many years. I've been riding mountain bicycles for years. Now, I'd like to get into dirt biking but know very little about dirt bikes. What size bike should my 1st dirt bike be? Is a 450 too big as my 1st bike? Should I try a 250cc? Is a 250cc easier to handle than a 450cc bike? I would like to do trail riding only for fun. I'm under 200lbs and 6 feet tall (if that matters)...

I'm sure this question has been asked before so apologies for the re-ask.

So what do you all suggest?

Talking purely offroad (double/single track, MX, hard enduro) 250cc is the way to go. That bike will make you happy when your new and a better rider, and still enjoy them when your more experienced.
450cc is just mean no matter who you are, but something to be considered if you really like offroad once you have some seat (or stand) time. But if you upgrade later on don't sell your 250.

I bought a crf450 as a first "real dirtbike"... I should have bought a 250. More forgiving...

Been riding street for 15 years.

Started in the dirt on a tw200.

Liquid cooled 250 4 stroke would be my suggestion.

Or do trail tours in the Ganny. Try a crf250 and see if it is to your liking.

My personal off-road favourite is the ktm 200xc. Lots of juice in a light little 125 chassis. Also extremely cheap when the time comes for rebuild.

Sent from my Le Pan TC802A using Tapatalk

Yes, definitely do a day at Trail Tours. Start on the CRF230 - it is really mild, but that's a good thing the first time you're in the woods. Maybe try the CRF250X in the afternoon for comparison.

I found that there didn't seem to be a lot of model choices from the Japanese manufacturers that fit between the very tame playbikes like the CRF230/TTR230 and the full on 250 MX race bikes.