Need some advice on trailer stuff | GTAMotorcycle.com

Need some advice on trailer stuff

油井緋色

Site Supporter
http://www.kijiji.ca/v-cargo-utilit...49/1143996681?enableSearchNavigationFlag=true

I found this; it meets the storage and space requirements for all my track days in the future. However, it looks like it'll need a floor, and some stuff to tie the bike down with.

I'm thinking plywood from Home Depot? But then how do I make sure the floor stays put (screws, nuts, washer size?) and put anchor points for the tie downs?

Any advice is appreciated; I'm a programmer, not a handyman lol

I'd recommend plywood and then tarwrap for weathering and grip. Don't screw it down, I'd suggest nut/bolt and washer. If you can afford diamond steel plate and paying a local shop to weld it on that'd be an idea, then grit paint and ready to go.

I did this to my friends harbour freight trailer. 3/4 inch plywood with flush mount countersunk Allen bolts and nuts, you could then have a removable wheel chock on the front for the bike using a metal backing plate on the wood deck.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1456878670.103255.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1456878813.834438.jpg

The OP's posted trailer looks a lot like the harbour freight trailer that is half the money.

As for attaching plywood down, I am a fan of T-nuts where you can access the back. (Bolt w washer would come up from underneath into t-nut on top of plywood). Or carriage bolts as recommended above.

5-16-x-1-2-tee-nut-4-prong-z.jpg

For my craptastic HF trailer, I just used cheap plywood (1/2 IIRC). It has been on for years and I have left it outside for a few summers and it is starting to look tired, but still works well. If I used tie-downs attached to the deck, I would be more concerned about the materials/condition.

It is a harbor freight clone, for sure. There's a few people up here selling them - at least one claims that the one he's selling is a superior model with a stronger build/material, but YMMV.