Laws and license in toronto | GTAMotorcycle.com

Laws and license in toronto

Tianyu

Hi~
I just came to Toronto for a month.
I am interested in dirt bike but I don't know where can play it.
If I buy a crf250, can I use it for commuting? (I live in DT and I am a student of Centennial College in progress)
Do i need m2 license or insurance?

THANKS FOR HELP

If you're only here for a month, the expenses and hassles involved in purchase, licensing (both you and the bike), and insurance for that period of time is going to be in no way realistic – just buy a TTC pass instead, or rent a car. Keep the weather in mind as well, we are no way out of the woods with regards to winter yet either, look at the forecast for the next 48 hours as a prime example – there will be plenty of periods that a bike will be no use to you in the next four weeks.

Riding on the street requires a street-plated bike and regular vehicle insurance (expensive) and a motorcycle license (M1 or better). Years ago you could legally convert a dirt bike to have a street plate and ride on the street, but they no longer allow that these days. You can still find some of those older converted bikes on the used market (look for "blue plated" in the description), but without a blue plate you will not be able to ride on the street. Even with a blue plate, you will be a prime target for police attention if you're riding it downtown, since none of these bikes came with proper street equipment like horns, turn signals or fenders.

If you just want to play around offroad, you don't need the street plate or motorcycle license. Depending on where you ride, you will need a green offroad plate and offroad insurance, but that is much cheaper than regular street insurance. There is nowhere legal to ride off road within the GTA itself though, so you'll also need a pickup truck or trailer to get the bike to a riding area (Simcoe forest or Ganaraska forest - both of which require an additional membership).