Finally getting started (East York, Honda VF750F) - advice welcome! | GTAMotorcycle.com

Finally getting started (East York, Honda VF750F) - advice welcome!

SpaceButler

Hi all,

I'm a software developer with an electrical/computer engineering degree, living in East York and working in North York. I've wanted a motorcycle for years, and last week I finally took the plunge! I got a Honda Interceptor VF750F which (hopefully) only needs minor work to run -- the starter is slow, there's a leaky O-ring in one coolant line, it needs new gauges, and one carb diaphragm is torn; all stuff I'm confident I can learn to fix myself. (Advice is still welcome, though!)

What I most need advice on is gear and a riding course. A couple years ago I picked up a motorcycle helmet and armored gloves, and I have good hiking boots that cover my ankles; but I still need to get everything else, as well as a motorcycle license. Where are good places to go for gear in the GTA (or should I just shop online)? What should I look for to tell good gear apart from cheap, crappy gear that's just made to look like it's protective? How can I find gear which is protective, but also doesn't get devastatingly hot when I'm stopped in traffic? Does it matter which rider course I take, and if so, which is/are good?

As for the bike itself -- is it a stupid idea to start with a 550lb, 750cc bike? I never planned to start on something this big, but the deal a friend offered me on it was too good to pass up. I figure I can fix it up, get it safetied, and trade it for something smaller if that would really be a smarter idea, but now that I own it I've already got a soft spot for this thing. :D The reviews from when it came out all praise it for smooth power delivery and comfort while still having fun handling, all of which I like the sound of.

The bike:
iiWmyNK.jpg

Welcome fellow East Yorker!