WR250 (2001-02) Electrical Lighting Question(s) - Possible Issue | GTAMotorcycle.com

WR250 (2001-02) Electrical Lighting Question(s) - Possible Issue

Serialize

Site Supporter
Hello,
Looking for some input on a maybe/maybe not electrical issue on a second hand 2001 WR250 (Canadian model) I recently purchased.
I apologize in advance this is a little preliminary and I have not had the chance to test resistance and things like that (I'm new to electrical troubleshooting).
I've searched this and other forums and read a number of posts, and in some cases aftermarket lighting was installed and caused issues, or other time bad regulator/rectifier was the culprit. My symptoms are slightly different but I think might be in the realm of a bad regulator/rectifier but just looking for some advice.

Just bought the bike recently and only rode twice, first around to test ride it when buying and then again a little in a parking lot just getting used to the bike.

When I first rode it and I was test-riding the bike (in the evening with fairly low light) the front headlight was very dim. You can see it was on and yellow, but too dim to actually shine any light. The tail light was even dimmer and ever so slightly a faint resemblance of red in it. When I rode it on the throttle it slightly got brighter but very minimal change.

Last night went out to ride it a second time to a parking lot to get used to the bike (again in the evening with fairly low light). This time the headlight was non existent, would not run on. The tail light was bright and working very well.

I find it strange that the headlight failed and now the taillight works, and I'm hoping it's simply a headlamp bulb that let go and just needs replacing.
But would the headlamp crapping-out cause the taillight extra power to light up nicely? Sounds to me either both front and rear bulbs might need replacing, or possibly and regulator/rectifier issue as well?