Thoughts on ABS? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Thoughts on ABS?

Owlman

So I'm looking for a new bike, my first, in the 300~500cc class.

From what I understand ABS is now becoming more and more important from a regulatory standpoint and almost all bikes *ahem R3* offer it as an option. My question is should it be a deal breaker if I find a bike without it?

Would practicing and learning proper threshold breaking techniques be enough along with proper driving techniques?

Your thoughts as always are much appreciated.

Abs is a good thing. However I don't see it as a deal breaker, my current bike does not have it. I've never had it on any bike I've ever owned, I've been riding street since 1989. Ymmv

If you're riding in Canada, then you're going to be off the bike for a few months each year.
So you'll be rusty. ABS helps.

The other thing is that I haven't had anyone come close to my stopping distances when we practice.
I have ABS. I'm sure that a pro could beat me with practice, but we'd be back to square one when the surface changed. Unless I was buying a Vintage bike, it would have ABS.

Lots of threads about ABS. I would not buy a bike without it. The stopping power is incredible, no wheel lock up, you just stop. Others will voice opposite, again plenty of threads about ABS if you search.

It does not belong on a Motorcycle.

It's a contentious issue here. Something to remember is that motorcycle ABS has come a long way in the last three decades... there used to be some significant trade-offs but those have all but disappeared. I have yet to own a bike with ABS, but there are many on the market today that I would consider.

So, a deal breaker? Nah... And ABS probably won't sway me to pick one model over another. But if it were available on a bike I wanted, and it was a modern system, I would probably option it

So I'm looking for a new bike, my first, in the 300~500cc class.