hand signal? | GTAMotorcycle.com

hand signal?

fraggles04

Hello. I am a new rider and just got my [first] bike Saturday (Honda CB500X). Sunday evening (about 7:30PM) I rode from Waterloo -> St. Agatha -> Wellesley and back (want to try to get an hour in every day). It seems like every oncoming motorcyclist gave me a wave of sorts (left hand down, palm facing out - one guy had a #1/index finger out). I assume it means greetings or hello? Is there a list somewhere? A quick search through the site doesn't show anything.

I didn't really wave back as I am still learning and keeping my hand on the handle bar while going 80+km/h seems like the prudent thing to do. So if you passed a rude jerk on a white Honda (wearing red Icon jacket) that ignored you completely, my apologies. :)

I didn't really wave back as I am still learning and keeping my hand on the handle bar while going 80+km/h seems like the prudent thing to do. So if you passed a rude jerk on a white Honda (wearing red Icon jacket) that ignored you completely, my apologies. :)

If you don't want to take your hands off the controls, just shake your head from side-to-side in response to the other rider's wave. They'll understand completely.

Welcome to riding! It is a good sign when other bikers acknowledge you on the road. Any acknowledgement to the other rider is good, such as a nod or wave.

There are not many biker signs. Some important ones include:
-Police ahead: repeated pats on your helmet
-road debris: stick your leg straight out

You want a chart to understand a simple wave that basically just means, "Hey."?

VazpJiD.jpg

You will find that gently moving your hand off the grip does absolutely nothing to your trajectory or stability. But when you're comfortable. Nice bike, eh?

https://rideapart.com/articles/important-motorcycle-wave

You will find that gently moving your hand off the grip does absolutely nothing to your trajectory or stability. But when you're comfortable. Nice bike, eh?