Looking to join track days this season, getting my first track bike | GTAMotorcycle.com

Looking to join track days this season, getting my first track bike

cool

Banned
I'm a noob and looking to join this season. I'm thinking of picking up a used track bike. I like SV650, is the engine forgiving? for a novice, is it easier to control the throttle than a 4 cylinders? Any tips? should I convert street bike (from good condition) or buy a used track bike (possible abused) ?

Ps, i'm using IE8 and I cant go down for a paragraph... weird. A used track bike has one advantage is it usually comes with goodies (suspension, race body..)

Buying a bike already set up for track has the track essentials (bodywork, etc) and you'll save a ton of cash. I wouldn't necessarily say the SV is any more forgiving than a I4 but each would have their pros/cons. Depends if you like the power curve of a twin on the track or not.

BTW, welcome to the fun (expensive) club :)

When you say noob, do you mean new to riding or just new to track? What have you been riding up till now?

Pick up a used track cbr or gsxr if you can since these are the most popular bikes (lots od parts available) also r6 but its pretty mean to short guys so leave that upto your discretion.

Considering your street bike, the sv will be fine. Get a track prep bike as others have stated

Depends on what your goals are and your budget. Add in leathers etc it can become expensive. How mechanically inclined are you as well?

I see lots of people try on bikes that are too big for them and they struggle to learn.

A cheap CBR125, CBR250 or SV650 are your best bets to try the sport with and to learn on. This is a sliding scale. Costs go up as you move up. As does the maintenance and tire/equipment costs.

CBR125s are harder to find track ready now but are cheap to buy and run. The downfall is you would likely outgrow it in the first year.