Push fit PEX fittings | GTAMotorcycle.com

Push fit PEX fittings

jc100

So..along with my BBQ I got a new refrigerator with a fancy dancy water and ice thing. Now I need to look at hooking it up. Under the floor where the fridge is going to go I can see some white flexible water pipe that I assume is PEX. I've seen some push fit fixtures that look super easy to work with that will let me put a T junction in with a stop valve and then I can attach some hose and run it through the floor to the back of the fridge.

I've never used these things before so does anyone have any experience doing this? Is it as easy as it looks on YouTube? Anything I need to look out for? Should I use braided steel hose for the fridge hook up?

Or...should I pay a plumber for an hour (or less) of his time to come and sort it out? What would that cost?

Cheers.

Pay a plumber.

You can go shopping for a new bra and panties while the man is working.

post-25179-you-can-do-it-gif-Waterboy-Img-JC2V.gif

Just go talk to the plumbing guys at Home Depot or Lowes, they'll walk you through it and give you any parts you need.

Find out where that pex line goes first, if it's a cold water line, you can T into it.
I don't recommend anything "press on" though, may as well do it right.
What size is the water line into the fridge?
Does it come with any fittings?

Get that all figured out first, then shut the water off, open a tap in the basement and let it drain awhile, do your work, then have someone else turn the water back on while you see if you failed or not, that way you can scream like a little girl for them to turn the water off quickly if needed.
:D

Just do it....

I have used the shark bite fittings, been holding back the water now for 3 years, no issues at all, and it saves a lot of time....added them to all the lines in the house, bathrooms, powder room, kitchen, laundry, toilets....

Take the easy way,,,,,this coming from a almost certified plumber,,,,,I changed careers....LOL