I need your help! | GTAMotorcycle.com

I need your help!

Milli_R6

Hi, I have a 2003 Yamaha R6 and am having some problems with it.
Once my bike is started and the temperature reaches 100 degrees, I pop it in to first and it shuts off by itself and the fan goes off.
It does not start up again until it cools down. When the bike temperature is under 100 degrees, everything works fine.
What can the problem be???
Thanks.

I am no R6 expert, but is that 100C or 100F? If it is that hot just after start up I would think you have a problem with your cooling system and the ECU shuts down the motor down to avoid overheating damage.
parillaguy

Sounds like the rectifier is over heating - I am not a mechanic, I did stay at a holiday in last night

I thought it might be a voltage regulator problem or even the stator but then my bike would have trouble starting, no?

Last edited:
Explain to the class exactly what you are doing and what is happening. And, get yourself a digital multimeter, and have the bike on its rear stand with the rear wheel off the ground.

Take the seat off, set the multimeter to measure DC voltage, measure voltage across battery terminals. Key off, engine off. What's the reading?

When you turn the key on and start the engine, what does the temperature display show (A) before starting the engine (if it displays it), and (B) immediately after starting the engine? If the bike has been sitting for some time, does this temperature display make sense given the temperature that the bike has been sitting around in? Many temp gauges don't display anything if the temperature is below a certain amount ... that's OK ... does the amount of time of running engine that it takes before the temp gauge starts showing anything, make sense given the ambient temperature?

With the engine idling,having just started it, again measure the voltage across the battery terminals. What is it?