Keihin Carb Mods, Cleaning and Rebuild 2001 Suzuki Bandit 600S | GTAMotorcycle.com

Keihin Carb Mods, Cleaning and Rebuild 2001 Suzuki Bandit 600S

Nate

Hey all.... I'm a licensed mechanic in the automobile industry and new to working on motorcycles. I say this to make aware I have some technical aptitude. I haven't touched a carb in near 20 years, and back then it was a 1979 Pontiac, LOL. So this is a new territory. I've watched videos, and it looks straight forward. I want to to the job once though.... Well for now, I understand that regular cleanings aren't unheard of. I want to solve this bogging issue until 7000rpm. Will a simple cleaning solve it? Or should I change up the pilot jet and add a washer to the slide needle? Any input is welcomed please and thanks!

It is pretty straight forward, yes. If the bike is stock make sure all the carb settings are factory spec too. Sometimes things get moved. Mixture screw; needle setting; are the jets the right ones; etc. Clean the carbs thoroughly. Make sure they're synced/balanced. If that doesn't clear things up then either you missed something, the bike is not stock (and needs different settings), or the problem lies elsewhere. Oh, and find a service manual - they have all the info in them.

I've downloaded the manual on the forum... I have them back together, I enrichened the mixture screws and it is much smoother. One screw was all the way seated from factory :-\ I counted the turns in before removing them, thats how I knew. And the factory caps were still covering the screws... Going through bandit forums, its common for these bikes to have dead spots in the power band before peak power. Next solution is to try a jet kit that is specifically designed to solve the issue. They are set to run lean from factory.