HTA 216 – Power of Officer to Stop/Running – Layman’s Terms | GTAMotorcycle.com

HTA 216 – Power of Officer to Stop/Running – Layman’s Terms

VT1100

Let me preface this by saying I am not a lawyer, paralegal, police officer or involved in the court system in any way. What I am is a Criminology student who, in some instances, is required to take laws, acts and bylaws and put them into Layman's Terms in order to conduct research. The simple act of putting things into Layman's Terms automatically takes away some of the specificity of the act, but serves as a way for us regular folk to get an insight into what they are trying to get across.

*This is not legal advice, nor is it to be taken as such.

.___________________.______________________.______________________________.________________________.____________

Hey everyone -here is another that I've had to do. It's the layman's terms of HTA 216 outlining the officers power to stop and the penalties for running from police.

Hopefully someone will learn something from it!

Here's the same thing but for HTA 172 - Stunt Driving: HTA 172 - Layman's Terms

HTA 216 – Power of an Officer to Stop/Running From Police – Layman’s Terms

Power of police officer to stop vehicle

(1) A police officer, while executing his duties in accordance with the law, may require you as a driver of the vehicle to stop. The driver of the motor vehicle, when signaled (read: cherries, vocally or hand signals) or asked to stop by a police officer will come to a safe stop as soon as possible. For all of this to apply - the officer must be readily identifiable as a police officer.

Offence

(2) Every person who fails to stop as in section (1) is considered guilty of an offence and if convicted could face;
(a) a fine between $1000 and $10,000 or
(b) up to six months in prison or
(c) a fine from $1000 to $10,000 and up to six months in prison.

Escape by flight (read: running from police)