HTA 172 - Layman's Terms | GTAMotorcycle.com

HTA 172 - Layman's Terms

VT1100

HTA 172 - The Stunt Driving Law- Layman's Terms

Let me preface this by saying I am not a lawyer, paralegal, police officer or involved in the court system in any way. What I am is a Criminology student who, in some instances, is required to take laws, acts and bylaws and put them into Layman's Terms in order to conduct research. The simple act of putting things into Layman's Terms automatically takes away some of the specificity of the act, but serves as a way for us regular folk to get an insight into what they are trying to get across.

*This is not legal advice, nor is it to be taken as such.
. . . . . .

Hey everyone. Something I've had to do in the last week is look into the HTA 172 and attempt to put it into easy to understand language for research purposes. I figured that maybe someone on here could use it for info or just for curiosities sake, so I'm posting it up!

Here is my "Layman's Terms" HTA 172 - The Stunt Driving Charge

Racing, stunts, etc., prohibited

HTA 172 Subsection 1
No one shall drive a motor vehicle on a highway in a “race” or “contest”, while performing a “stunt” or on a bet or wager. 2007, c. 13, s. 21.

What is considered a “race” or “contest”?
For the purposes of section 172 of the Highway Traffic Act, “race” and “contest” include any activity where you or you and one or more people do the following:

1. Driving two or more motor vehicles faster than the speed limit and in a manner that shows the drivers may be engaged in a competition.

2. Driving a motor vehicle in a way that makes the officer believe you have the intention to chase another motor vehicle. (All you have to do is show the intent – you can be charged without having actually chased a vehicle)