A little road test advice (G, not M) | GTAMotorcycle.com

A little road test advice (G, not M)

Mongrel

So I've been riding for over ten years and have had a full M for nearly that long. But I never bothered to get myself the G portion, other than having a G1 for as long (yes, it's still valid, I renew it). I can drive a car, that's not the issue, but the wife and I don't own one and I rarely have the chance. To me a bike is easier, I guess.

Anyway I figure enough of this silliness, I'm sure I'll need the G for work at some point, time to go take the tests. Thing is, I'm the type that gets nervous under tight scrutiny like that and paying $100 on a really tight budget to take the damn test doesn't make things any better.

I want to just practice (I can get a car sometimes) not just driving but "test discipline" driving, but it's been a long damn time since I've been in high school, there's no one to ask "Hey how did your test go, what was it like?" A couple of people I know would be happy to act as surrogate tester so that I can do a bunch of dry runs to properly polish up for the road test to G2, but I need something for them to work from.

I'm sure I can guess at a few things, but I'd rather guess as little as possible. Googling of course gets you the ministry, a bunch of G1 practice tests, and some sketchy looking "driver schools" as well as some legitimate ones. I don't need or expect an exact "cheat sheet" of what is tested, only a similar list that I can give one of theses friend to coach me from, test-style. If anyone has any recommendations for something to go by for test patterns, or a list of "automatic failures" offences, I'd appreciate it.

In exchange of $40-$50, you can get all the knowledge/expertise/advice of a proper driving instructor in 1.5hrs in car. IMO, great gain/price situation.

Otherwise, you can make yourself set for the drivetest by just watching a few youtube vids.