Thermal Gear Really Thermal? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Thermal Gear Really Thermal?

ariesmars

I'm planning on riding till mid November and knew that I'd have to buy winterish gear. Anyone have experience with thermal undergarments? I know about heated gear but what about thermal? Worth the money?

Thanks.

I have a Tourmaster Transition 3 jacket with a thermal liner. I love this jacket. Nice and warm and no wind gets through it. I also wear a pair of Joe Rocket Alter Ego 12 pants with a liner. Can`t remember if its thermal but they keep me warm and no wind gets through them either. And I wear a fleece buff around my neck because my jacket has no collar.

I'm planning on riding till mid November and knew that I'd have to buy winterish gear. Anyone have experience with thermal undergarments? I know about heated gear but what about thermal? Worth the money?

Thanks.

By Riding do you mean for pleasure on weekends or commuting? or both?

I use base layers that wick moisture and are warm under my riding gear. I have Halley hansen stuff, but theres tons of brands. Biggest marketed nowdays in mainstream stores is "under armour". I actually ride in the summer with similar technology and it actually wicks heat away from me too. The area you will feel the cold will be your hands - heated grips only go so far, you can do winter gloves too.

The area you will feel the cold will be your hands - heated grips only go so far, you can do winter gloves too.

You need little windshields for your hands no if ands or buts. Hand guards.

Patigonia capilene for my base layer. Never had heated gear, keep your hands, feet and neck warm and the rest will take care of itself.

I know this falls into the heated gear category, but I recently tried the heated vest and heated motorcycle gloves from www.firedupx.com and have to say I'm impressed! worth every penny for how long you can extend the riding season!