Rear Wheel Hop - Track Day | GTAMotorcycle.com

Rear Wheel Hop - Track Day

CDN-GTR

At my last track day at TMP I noticed on occasion that I would get some rear wheel hop under hard braking at the end of the front straight.

What suspension adjustment or rider adjustment is required to limit this hop from happening.

Just to note, I'm a beginner/green group rider who took the FAST level 2 course a few years back and fully remember being told not to use the rear brake so I only brake only with front. (I'm sure more advanced riders may use some rear but I currently do not).

Thanks

Probably caused by gear changes on downshifts. You can prevent it by either blipping the throttle with every downshift (takes skill) or by releasing the clutch very gradually (easier to do). The other option is to install a slipper clutch, which is what you would have had on the bikes at the FAST program.

Im assuming you're using front and rear brakes. It is very likely you are locking up the rear brake and hopping the tire.

**When you're hard on the front brakes the weight of the bike shifts forward onto the front rear causing the rear end to become light. This combined with to much rear brake will cause the tire to bounce around.

Last edited:
At my last track day at TMP I noticed on occasion that I would get some rear wheel hop under hard braking at the end of the front straight.

What suspension adjustment or rider adjustment is required to limit this hop from happening.

Just to note, I'm a beginner/green group rider who took the FAST level 2 course a few years back and fully remember being told not to use the rear brake so I only brake only with front. (I'm sure more advanced riders may use some rear but I currently do not).

Thanks

Im assuming you're using front and rear brakes. It is very likely you are locking up the rear brake and hopping the tire.