recommended base layer for colder rides? | GTAMotorcycle.com

recommended base layer for colder rides?

matthew

Site Supporter
I have some base layer clothing already and as far as I can remember, it's designed for warm weather. I don't know if I'm being influenced by marketing companies, but I'm now looking for some base layer clothing for cold weather.

What does everyone else use?

I have heated gloves so my hands are set.

Is something like this any good?
http://www.marks.com/shop/en/marks-...underwear/driwear-microfleece-thermals--16762

It seems pricey for just a bottom.

Go to a powers ports store that deals with snowmobiles and have a look at the Bombardier gear. I bought a medium weight brushed nylon top and bottom for $80, and a light weight for the same.

I've been using them for three years as a goto base layer.

Walmart in the States sells Sparks branded compression tops and bottoms that are brilliant! I've a long sleeve turtleneck on today under my jacket, and I wear a heated vest over top of it. I think it was under $20 and I'd happily get a few more for when I get lazy and the laundry basket gets full.

Costco was selling compression fit long sleeved cycling shirts for $19 dollars, and they make a great cool weather layer that fits under any jacket I have.

The heated vest was the best investment after my heated grips. A warm core pumps hot blood out to the extremities. ?

I picked up a couple UA Coldgear compression tops for $20/each at the Buffalo outlet last year, seem to work well.

I work outside all year round, so I've tried my share of thermal under layers. The hyperdri microfleece one's you linked from Marks are very expensive but do work the best for me. They are very warm and well made. I wear and wash them a couple times a week and after a year they are still in good shape. The elastic has not stretched out at all, unlike some cheaper pairs. I actually paid more then that when I bought a few pairs last year.