Oil change | GTAMotorcycle.com

Oil change

Joe Bass

*probably eating right now*
Site Supporter
Going to attempt my first (doing it myself) oil change on my 750 shadow. Watched some vids, looked easy enough. I used to do oil changes in a lube shop on cars years ago. Just gotten lazy, I guess.
Question is, how concerned should I be to have an extra/ new bolt and washer for the oil pan before attempting? Does anyone just automatically replace them at every oil change?
Also, when I do my change pre-storage, if I do another one before riding:
a) should I even do this?
b) is it okay to keep that filter installed?
Thanks in advance.
Sent from my Nokia Lumia 625 Windows Phone using Tapatalk

I'm not an expert so my advice is based on my personal preference. I like to do my last oil change just before I store my bike for the winter. But I doubt it makes much of a difference if you change it earlier and ride the bike a few times before storage. I always change my oil filter at the same time as the oil. I also get a new crush washer. The oil pan bolt should fine. I don,t see any reason why you would need to change it. Unless the threads were stripped in which case the oil pan area is most likely stripped. Just make sure not to over torque everything , follow the owners manual for your bike.

No need to do one before and after storage that is a waste and not very smart IMHO.
You should change the crush washer but in reality it is good for a few changes.
Change the oil at recommended intervals ride the bike and you will be fine.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

For sure change your oil (shortly) before winter storage. Oil with lots of km's is contaminated by corrosive compounds that isn't good for metal to be sitting in all winter.

any condensation that accumulates over the winter will boil off with the first ride and your oil is still fresh/unused.

Last edited: