How long does it take a new rider to progress to a litre bike? | GTAMotorcycle.com

How long does it take a new rider to progress to a litre bike?

stevenleung0000

I am new to motorcycle, and I am planning to get the ninja 300 for my first bike.
When I called insurance to ask for a quote, I was curious, so I also asked them how much it will be if I buy a R6.
Then the answer is $8400 a year, I was like omg...
Anyways, I know it is a difficult question, because every rider is different, but let's talk about the average...
How long does it take a new rider to have enough experiences and skill to handle a litre bike?
And when the time comes to me that I think it is time to upgrade, should I go straight to litre bike or a 600cc first?

The best riders start with a 125, get bored with it after a month, get a 600, get bored after a season and then upgrade. You seem like a smart, astute individual, so I think you'll be ready for a litre bike next May

The best riders start with a 125, get bored with it after a month, get a 600, get bored after a season and then upgrade. You seem like a smart, astute individual, so I think you'll be ready for a litre bike next May

lol

dont listen to that guy, he has no idea what hes talking about. its all about natural selection. start on a liter bike and if you survive the first season you know you were ready for it.

That depends on what you consider "handle".

99% of riders who own liter bikes can not come within 10 seconds a lap of Jordan Szoke's lap times at Mosport, for example. I fully include myself within that 99% even though I've had a motorcycle license for 25 years and have been roadracing (a much smaller displacement bike) for over 20. I've had 600s out on the track. I'm no faster on those than on my 400. Granted, more seat time would probably change that, but at my age, I don't need to go down that road.