2012 R6 won't start and weird noise !!! | GTAMotorcycle.com

2012 R6 won't start and weird noise !!!

DoomedSince78

Site Supporter
Help !!!

Hey guys when I go to start my R6 this is the sound I am getting, she started fine this morning, ride from Toronto to Barrie and I wanted to go out again and now this...

http://youtu.be/ICmX670mvfw

Last edited:
Everything comes on normally though all lights signals, gauges !!!!

Can I charge it or should I buy a new one ?

Sorry I am still new to all this bike stuff but learning is fun...

Last edited:
Help !!!

Hey guys when I go to start my R6 this is the sound I am getting, she started fine this morning, ride from Toronto to Barrie and I wanted to go out again and now this...

http://youtu.be/ICmX670mvfw
Battery dead, fried, or loose terminals. I see a lot of electrical tape, what kinda ish you got hooked up? The R6's stator can BARELY put out enough power for the bike bone stock (in fact it doesn't even charge the battery at idle. If your fan comes on at idle it actually starts draining the battery!). If you have crazy HID's, neon's, LED's, etc. then the bike can't keep up. If you were stuck in traffic for a long time before parking it, that's probably what killed your battery. When they are that dead, they usually don't recover, or at least don't work nearly as good as they did before.

Pick up a Shorai or other quality lithium battery (anything except Ballistic) and you'll be set. Not sure what's open today, Pro6, etc.

Good luck.

Everything comes on normally though all lights signals, gauges !!!!

Can I charge it or should I buy a new one ?

Sorry I am still new to all this bike stuff but learning is fun...
If you have a volt meter put it on the battery, check the voltage. Then hold down the starter button, check the voltage. You'll see that the voltage drops REALLY low when you try and start it, but when not the voltage is fine, that's why the gauge and all the lights work.